Virtual Humans Forum
Virtual Humans Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Virtual Humans
Partner website:
Chatbots.org
 All Forums
 Virtual Humans
 Software Download - Tips and Tricks
 AI Bliss Released...
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 15

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 14 2008 :  10:35:17  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
Well, that is almost exactly what I was thinking. Each module comes with different levels and worlds to itself. So she can dance in one level, click the chat button, SWOOSH, the module loads, and a new world appears (specific to that module) but the transition is so smooth that you won't think twice.


 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

GrantNZ
Dedicated Member



New Zealand
2677 Posts

Posted - Jan 14 2008 :  11:14:45  Show Profile
In fact, in this specific example, it could even be as simple as her turning off the stereo and sitting down on the couch to talk....
Go to Top of Page

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 21 2008 :  08:57:59  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
I've been working on the different mods for AIBliss... its slooowly coming together. The next big update (0.3) will have the Fashion Show module.

This is very very *rough*... I just completed the pipeline today so its barely working! But I managed to make a video of it so you guys could see it in action. I still have clean up and add more animations, fix the lighting, add various object animations, lots of stuff...

One nice feature is you can make your own catwalk list of the profiles you have or you can set it on Random and have AIBliss choose her clothing. Been thinkig of adding catwalk props... like fairy wings, angel halos, those wierd things you see on fashion shows.



Here is the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6jHPrC0H0c


I'd say I'll have this version with this module done in 2 weeks...!

 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

GrantNZ
Dedicated Member



New Zealand
2677 Posts

Posted - Jan 21 2008 :  09:54:24  Show Profile
Is it just me, or are they walking in time to the music?

One of the example motion-captured animations that comes with 3ds Max is a fashion model walking. I think she walks in a triangle though, or a circle. Still, it should be fairly easy to import it into Biped and take the parts you want, loop the strides and bend the 120 degree turns into 180 degrees. Not that there's anything wrong with your current animations - I'm just mentioning that it's there if you want it for variation.

If you can't find the file, let me know and I'll help you find it.

(Darn it though, you beat me to the catwalk idea I was going to use that motion-captured file to show off my character once she's done I'll have to think of another idea now!!)

P.S. You've really got to fix that walking thing, where she doesn't quite walk in heels properly It looks odd while dancing, but it just looks wrong when walking!

Overall though, very cool
Go to Top of Page

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 21 2008 :  10:09:13  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
quote:
Is it just me, or are they walking in time to the music?


Hey, its AiBliss baby...!

Naa... thanks. There's so many things wrong with it right now... or just needing to be done... its gonna take me a few very long sessions.

I'm gonna look for that biped file! I got the max version you download... no manuals or nothing... so maybe I don't have it! Cuz I looked with that very same intention... I'll look again... hmm!

Ok, gotta go to bed... cya later...

 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

GrantNZ
Dedicated Member



New Zealand
2677 Posts

Posted - Jan 21 2008 :  10:44:58  Show Profile
The non-download version is a disappointment - just a DVD to install from! And a web site to go to, where you can request a free "manual" - which turns out to be just a hard copy printout of some of the tutorials from the help file

Now, there is a pack you can download which has the required files to do the tutorials, as well as a heap of samples. In the sample directory there are lots of motion capture files, including a lot of dance moves, so it may well be worth your while to have a look.

The file I was thinking of is actually in the tutorials, in the character animation \ motion capture folder. It's called "fashion1.csm". I can email it to you if you want, since it's just 1 mb. But again, I'd recommend downloading the full pack to get all the other files (I don't know if you're allowed to use them commercially - I couldn't find anything which would tell me!)
Go to Top of Page

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 21 2008 :  11:36:52  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
Ah, thanks Grant... found it. The sucky thing is my 3dmax crashes Vista so I'm gonna have to jump on XP to take a look at it. One day it just started crashing - blue screen of death every time. So now I have to use XP to do all my 3d programming stuff... 3dsmax hates vista.

K, thanks again...

(couldnt get much sleep... brain wont shut down! arg)

 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

GrantNZ
Dedicated Member



New Zealand
2677 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2008 :  05:59:50  Show Profile
mik: Are you on 3ds Max 9? There's a 3ds Max SP2, which is supposed to fix some Vista bugs, give that a try if you haven't got it already.

In 3ds Max, go to the Help menu > "3ds Max on the Web" > "Updates..." and it'll take you to the patches web site.

(Just go straight for Hotfix 4 - it includes SP2 in it.)

quote:
Autodesk 3ds Max 9 Service Pack 2 is aimed primarily at addressing Vista compatibility issues. It includes a number of fixes specific to Windows Vista, as well as fixes across several functional areas, including Animation, Backburner, Batch Rendering, Biped, Editable Poly, Editable Mesh, Hair, Materials, Maxscript, mental ray, Reactor, Render to Texture, SDK and UV Unwrap.
Go to Top of Page

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2008 :  07:59:00  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
quote:
There's a 3ds Max SP2, which is supposed to fix some Vista bugs, give that a try if you haven't got it already.


Yeah, I have it... I've had it for a few months... still crashes.

I installed 3dsmax 2008 to see if that would run... crashes! For some reason Max hates my Vista. I've tried getting the latest drivers for my Nvidia 7600. Nope. I've tried searching all the 3dsmax forums. Nobody seems to have a bug like mine. I turned off some services a few weeks ago... so that might be it. But who knows which one it could possibly be.

Hmm... that gives me an idea. I'll see if I can find a reg file to turn on all the default Vista services.

Anyway... it seems to run a lot better on XP. Little things that are buggy on Vista seem to work. Just wish I didn't have all my stuff on Vista so I could just work and play without rebooting - dual boot.

Ok, cya later... I bet you're looking forward to that time off. Ok, bye.

 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2008 :  23:09:51  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
Hey, Grant, if you ever figure out how to filter out transformations curves from displaying - pleeease let me know.

I needed to select a few hundred keyframes to move their values so I needed to hide the Z and Y curves for easy selection. There is no way of doing it! - with Biped. I spent 3 hours just trying to figure it out. Never did... its a bug or something!

I had to go in and manually select each of 400 keyframes through a mass and mess of keyframes. Goddd!

Well the good news is her feet are planted now... looks good. No need... I just had to vent! How about a few more....

 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

GrantNZ
Dedicated Member



New Zealand
2677 Posts

Posted - Jan 23 2008 :  11:32:13  Show Profile
quote:
Yeah, I have it... I've had it for a few months... still crashes.

Oh I hate bugs like that.... My XP blue-screens every second time I turn it on, it's aggrevating! No idea which driver is causing it

quote:
I bet you're looking forward to that time off.

Too right This coming Monday is a public holiday here too

I managed to get a little more hand modelling done a couple of days ago....

quote:
Hey, Grant, if you ever figure out how to filter out transformations curves from displaying - pleeease let me know.

I needed to select a few hundred keyframes to move their values so I needed to hide the Z and Y curves for easy selection.

Is it the "Filters" button? I assume you're in the curve editor. One of the first tool bar buttons looks like a heirarchy diagram with a white dialog box with a question mark in it, and the tool tip is "Filters." (You can also use "Filters" in the "Display" menu.) Some of the many filter options are "X" "Y" and "Z", which are all ticked by default with mine.

If that's not it, post a screenshot of the window you're in, showing the curves, and I'll poke around some more....

(Good on you for fixing those feet )
Go to Top of Page

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 23 2008 :  12:38:37  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
quote:
Too right This coming Monday is a public holiday here too


Yay! Must be nice. A holiday? On a Monday? Fascinating... would love to know more about it. You NZers are Ok by me!

quote:
I managed to get a little more hand modelling done a couple of days ago....


Even a little everyday helps... I try not to look at it as 'work'. I find it helpful to have plenty of coffee as a motivator and the television or music playing at the same time. Well, unless I really need to concentrate and then everything is off.


quote:
Is it the "Filters" button?


Ya, it is. But it doesn't work with Biped curves. I've given up. First time I'm truly disappointed with Max.

Yeah, those feet didn't look good poking thru the floor. But now, I'm wincing a little... those sure are high high heels!

Have a good one!

 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

laackejim
Committed Member



USA
3274 Posts

Posted - Jan 23 2008 :  15:03:55  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by mikmoth

[quote]
Yeah, those feet didn't look good poking thru the floor. But now, I'm wincing a little... those sure are high high heels!

Have a good one!


Mik, Cinema has a constraint feature which for things like feet functions as a limit to passing into or through the floor. It is set up as a distance limit. The distance between a designated part of the foot and an object such as the floor is measured and not allowed to be less that what you set (zero or something a little bit above to avoid overshoot with the animation curves). You might look for constraints, limits, or some similar phrase. Max is too good a program to not have something like that.

Uncle Jim (e=mc2)
Go to Top of Page

mikmoth
Moderator



USA
2082 Posts

Posted - Jan 23 2008 :  16:03:43  Show Profile  Visit mikmoth's Homepage
Yeah, Max has constraints... the problem was that the motion capture has all kinds of small tiny natural inflection which are hard to map into contraints. There is a X,Y,Z,H,P,B... and feet, well, they move wierd. It was just easier to manually adjust... I'm sure I could do it... I just didn't want to go thru the headache. Anyway, its done now... yay! I'll try to post a video tonight. Doing some camera and lighting work.


 http://lhandslide.com
Go to Top of Page

laackejim
Committed Member



USA
3274 Posts

Posted - Jan 23 2008 :  21:03:02  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by mikmoth

Yeah, Max has constraints... the problem was that the motion capture has all kinds of small tiny natural inflection which are hard to map into contraints. There is a X,Y,Z,H,P,B... and feet, well, they move wierd. It was just easier to manually adjust... I'm sure I could do it... I just didn't want to go thru the headache. Anyway, its done now... yay! I'll try to post a video tonight. Doing some camera and lighting work.




With Cinema constraints can be imposed in xyz and hpb. I find it necessary to program the limits using the programming language included. The foot limit however is a single setting, is not dependent on the reference system and you set it once and it simply operates no matter what the object is doing.

By the way, I have had to stop using XYZ for animations or anything but creating a model. I use only HPB for animations. I have to do it with numbers rather than visual because of the non-obvious way HPB works. However, when run the animation is without screwups. it does just what you expect it to do and the leg doesn't get from back to forward by going through either the head or the other leg.

Uncle Jim (e=mc2)
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 15 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Virtual Humans Forum © V.R.Consulting Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.2 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000