Print Page | Close Window

How do you :

Printed from: Character Creation & Design Forum
Topic URL: http://www.vrconsulting.it/ccdforum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=47
Printed on: 09/15/2014

Topic:


Topic author: spydaz
Subject: How do you :
Posted on: 03/22/2007 10:46:18
Message:

1. Change the people putty default Character to the Full Body character.

I have recently bought the people putty program "hurah". Ive got a loads of bits and peices from all the various sites. Now to make use of them....

2. how do i edit a hapter file or cant it be edited(Final Version)

3. Ive build a file with my face (major probs with nose) how do i make accessoriys for me to wear?...


4. where do the bits i download go in the people putty folder?

5. apply the downloaded skins or my created skins to the figure?


Im a bit of a newbie ..... on this particular subject... the help files for the program are limmted.....

thnks for any help....

Replies:


Reply author: GamerThom
Replied on: 03/22/2007 17:36:34
Message:

Haptek fullbody figures can't be loaded into or edited using
PeoplePutty. PeoplePutty can only be used for making new head
haptars. To do what you are asking, requires the full commercial
grade figure creation/editing program from haptek which requires
a commercial license from them. All of which has a price-tag of
around $2,000 the last time I checked.

The help files for the program are limited because the program
itself is very limited. Haptar files can't be edited in the way
you are thinking, and to create new haptar accessories or figures
you need to get the commercial application with license from haptek
in order to be able to encode and compress the mesh objects and
figures into haptek's custom file formats.

The only thing any of us are able to do with things made outside
of PeoplePutty, is use them on a drag and drop basis with the
haptek player. But even then the stuff has to have been compressed
and specially encoded using haptek's own commercial editing software.
I think Duskrider created a couple of hap files that allow you to
call up certain things inside of Hal when he is being used with a
haptek figure.

As I said in the other topic you posted a question in, I haven't
really tried to do much with that myself (can't afford the $2,000 or so
that haptek wants for the commercial app & license), but you might
try asking Freddy at AiDreams or Nige at zabaware forum. They're the
ones that have worked more with the haptek accessories than anyone
else, accept for Arakus.

You should have asked one of us who works with PeoplePutty what
you could use it for, do with it before you bought it. Considering
what you thought it may be capable of, you may have wasted your
money.


Reply author: Freddy
Replied on: 03/22/2007 20:23:33
Message:

Thom is correct , there is a limit to what you can do with PP and it only works with heads.

To answer one of your questions, Haptek do sell an extension pack of accessories, or least they used to - things like wigs and hats.

New accessories have to first be constructed in a 3D modelling program or existing ones downloaded from somewhere etc..

There's a couple of methods to convert them:

1)Use 3DsMax - which you can add an exporter tool to that exports them into Haptek files.

2)Using some other modeller (eg Blender) and creating an .obj file of your model. This can then be converted to a Haptek model with their Haptek Delta Set Maker (haptek encoder) and then through their other tool HapTargh which compresses it into a HTR. There's a bit more to it than that, but I mention because it saves buying 3DsMax.


On making a new figure, Hapteks own advice is to edit existing models. The reason for that is they will have all the animations and skeletons in place. There are tools like Figuremaker that can be used in the making of new fullbodies, but there's no short or easy answer to how you go about it. I think beyond editing existing models may require some expense on Haptek training as it is a lengthy process.

I hope that gives you some idea, I can try and explain things further if you need me to, but further work like that requires some expense on Haptek tools.


Reply author: spydaz
Replied on: 03/22/2007 22:05:14
Message:

all usefull knowledge...

So. How do i apply one of the skin Jpegs full body figure ?

One of the ladys' or mens...

After reading one of the long postings i see how to edit the skin file for use....


Reply author: spydaz
Replied on: 03/22/2007 22:08:42
Message:

PS: I have poser7 And maya6...... Adobe suite / Photodraw ...

These are my main graphics programs ......


Reply author: GamerThom
Replied on: 03/23/2007 00:39:02
Message:

All you do is open the haptar up in the hapPlayer and
then drag and drop a skin onto it. Unfortunately nothing
is available to enable any of us to save a skin complete with
the fullbody haptar, as a new figure. Please go back through
the questions you posted in this area and read the answers and
explanations which Freddy has posted for you. Thanks spydaz.


BTW.....if you have MAYA 6, then who knows, you may be able to
afford to throw more money at haptek for all the commercial tools
for fullbody creation/editing and accessory encoding and compression.
But if you can, I wouldn't look to see any real kind of return on
your investment.


Reply author: spydaz
Replied on: 03/29/2007 11:51:57
Message:

quote:
Originally posted by GamerThom

All you do is open the haptar up in the hapPlayer and
then drag and drop a skin onto it. Unfortunately nothing
is available to enable any of us to save a skin complete with
the fullbody haptar, as a new figure. Please go back through
the questions you posted in this area and read the answers and
explanations which Freddy has posted for you. Thanks spydaz.


BTW.....if you have MAYA 6, then who knows, you may be able to
afford to throw more money at haptek for all the commercial tools
for fullbody creation/editing and accessory encoding and compression.
But if you can, I wouldn't look to see any real kind of return on
your investment.




Silly Guys...

The way in which hap files work, you will find that the hap file will auto load the skin for you when the character loads Evry time..... Look deep boys /girls


Reply author: Freddy
Replied on: 03/29/2007 17:02:17
Message:

Yeah you can do a lot with Hapfiles, but you need the tools to do certain things like make a standalone haptar, add animations to a Figure Definition file or make permanent changes to things like the internal switches and states.


Character Creation & Design Forum : http://www.vrconsulting.it/ccdforum/

© 2007 V.R.Consulting sas

Close Window